top of page
Search

Wasted Opportunities

Updated: Oct 15, 2019

On the final night of my project documenting the lives of our North Okanagan / Shuswap candidates, I am left sad for our community and wondering if it's me who is the one who doesn't understand engagement, the rules, or people in general. After spending 42 thoughtful, defining hours with the candidates, it ended tonight with me seeing, again, why this system is failing the people.

Tonight there were so many issues. SO MANY. People got up and walked out of the room, not out of boredom, but of frustration and anger and disgust. It was like the wild wild west - anything goes as long as you don't go over time. That is not engagement. That is wasted opportunity. The two issues I will comment on tonight are things that baffled me. Some things I expected, but these I did not. 1) Low Attendance Each day I watch people talk face to face, and bicker online about the political landscape. People close to my age (39), or in my similar demographic (middle class, working, young family, aging parents) go on about not knowing who to vote for. Sometimes they know the issues, other times not so much. Some are contemplating a strategic vote but they aren't sure if that is their truth. Some talk and talk and talk. Some hit people over the head with their opinion. Many make claim to truths - and yet none of those people were in attendance. Of the less than 200 people in the room, I counted 10 that I would guess to be under 40. 10 people who wanted to have a face to face interaction with the candidates. 10 people who cared enough about their future to be involved. Where are all of the youth? The young parents? The families? Do they not care? Did they not know about the forum? In this high tech world it's sad to think people didn't know. Information is at our fingertips. But I guess we have to want it. I expected standing room only, and filled with people who are ready to shape the future of Canada. Boy was I wrong.

Marc Reinarz from the Green Party speaks at the All Candidates Forum in Salmon Arm

2) Format Two words. Dumpster fire. When the goal is education and engagement, not giving the candidates a chance to answer questions about important, pressing topics is the greatest of failures. With only two allowed to answer each question, the audience missed out on getting to know platform issues that matter. These questions were formulated by the public, yet the public were shortchanged in the answers. For those who came out, I applaud you. And for those who didn't get to learn what you came to learn, please keep searching for your answers. The candidates WANT to talk to you. When the small crowd who does show is also stripped from their opportunity to engage, we all lose.

160 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page