top of page
Search

Harwinder Sandhu

October 1, 2019

10:58 AM

My day with Harwinder started a bit later than the first candidate, and that was completely okay with me. The plan was to meet at 11 a.m. at her home before we ventured out on a day of office work, campaigning, door-knocking and debate. Located in a beautiful area in Coldstream, I found her house with a signature orange calling card on the lawn. At the door I was met with bright eyes and a huge grin - her son, Avishaan was peeking through the glass in the front door, awaiting my arrival. He is 3 years old, the same age as my son Johnny, and I could instantly relate to the busyness of Harwinder's life. Those with young kids know both the struggles, magic, and balancing act that parenthood can be.

Harwinder greeted me with that warm smile and gave me a hug thanking me for my time and for being proactive in my search to find a candidate worth voting for. It seems strange to me that I'm the one being thanked, when it's the candidates who are sacrificing so much - yet here we are.


11:05 AM

As we discussed the plan for the day, Harwinder finishes up some housework. Washing the dishes and sweeping the floor are things that need to be done whether we are in the midst of a federal election campaign or not. Her husband Baljeet offers to make us some Chai tea. Now, this isn't a tea bought from the grocery store, but a homemade blend of amazing spices. A recipe would be forthcoming they assured me. We have a bit of time to sit and talk about the struggles of the housing market. It's not a question I had, but a natural part of the conversation. While Harwinder changes her clothes, I talk with Baljeet about how both luck and timing contribute to accessing the market. Of course hard work plays a part (trust me – I know) but it's noted that those who have the luxury of time will often come out ahead. Unfortunately so many people don't have time to spare.

As the conversation switches to forestry, Avishaan dances around the kitchen trying to get my attention. He speaks to me in a combination of English, Punjabi, and toddler talk (which I am oh so familiar with). His speech is fluid as he mixes languages in a single sentence. Baljeet's father resides with them, and his English is limited, so Avishaan has ample opportunity to speak both. Those little minds are sponges, we muse. With Harwinder and Baljeet both employed in the medical field they rely on grandpa for additional support, which is a welcomed role. Harwinder knows that if elected, the position will change their lives and she will be sacrificing time away from her family. Yet she is still here, ready to make that sacrifice because she believes her work will be a benefit to all. The hard work she does now and the sacrifice she makes is so that her kids, and all kids, can have a better life. And her support network and employment rules will allow her to take on this role, if elected.


12:08 AM

It is time for us to hit the road and head to her office in downtown Vernon. Harwinder and Baljeet say goodbye to Avishaan and a little distraction from Grandpa is needed to get us out the door. As we head back into town the topic of discussion lines the sides of the road. Campaign signs. Of course, they're everywhere. And it's be noted that two of the NDP signs are no longer standing. Perhaps wind? Or possibly someone has remove them and throw them on the ground. In this election nothing would surprise me. We stopped and Baljeet erects the signs as me and Harwinder discuss quantity. The budget for advertising isn't nearly as large as some of their parties. Harwinder has opted for 12 large wooden signs which she believes is least of the five candidates.

For some reason signs are always a visceral topic. Whether it's the amount, how they can be recycled, where they are located, there is always a flaw in someones approach. Harwinder informs me she has a phone call with a news outlet later today to discuss what she will be doing with her signs afterwards. It's been noted that other parties are donating the signs to a program that turns them into the beds for homeless. But because of Harwinder's backgrounds in healthcare, she doesn't feel that's the best choice. Properly disinfection would be hard to achieve so she has chosen to have less signs and recycle the ones she cannot reuse. She doesn't speak poorly of those who have made an alternative choice, she has just made a different one. She is human and not perfect and just wants to make the best decisions she can with the information available to her.



12:12 PM

We are almost at her office when I asked her what the hardest part of running in this election is. There was a pause before her response and it turns out my suspicions are correct.

"Being a woman of colour."

It hurts my heart that we live in a time and place where were we still struggle with racism everyday. Harwinder comments on how when issues like this arise, she needs to stay positive. And she is fortunate to have a very strong support network around her. But it still leaves that nagging question of what has she done wrong to deserve that? As a society we can do better, she notes. She deserves to be seen as a Canadian and at times she is not because her skin colour is a few shades darker.

Now, the reason why I was expecting this answer was from an event that happened a few nights prior. Let me backtrack for a second so you can understand how real this situation is.

 

Sept 26th, 2019

5:50 PM

A few minutes before the all candidates forum in Blind Bay was to begin, I had been circling the room looking for light and angles and interaction while documenting a day in the life of Cindy Derkasz. As I walked past Harwinder, she looked at me and I immediately knew that something was off. Harwinder had just been introducing herself to those in the room, and one man refused to shake her hand. It was blatant, ignorant, in your face racism. And it shook her.

It was at this very point that I questioned MY role. My job was to document the events as they unfolded but my heart screamed for me to call out that disgusting behaviour. There's no room in my life for racist people, and there is no place for it in our streets, our kitchens, or in public forums. This was a part of Harwinder's story though, so in respect for her, and the process, I kept shooting. For most people in the room, they didn't know anything had transpired. Forums get started a few minutes late all the time, right? While Baljeet and her campaign manager Eric went to speak with her before the Forum got underway, I continued about my job. And while the confrontation was over, the effect still hung heavy in the air. It's moments like that that make you fully realize the struggles candidates endure while trying to serve us. And it's sobering.


 

As we continue our conversation about racism, Harwinder talks about how as a society if we see something we need to say something, and I feel pained. I didn't say anything when I encountered it and I told her my reasoning. I'm not sure if my comment was to make myself feel better or to make her feel better but she seemed to understand.

12:29 PM

We arrive at the office and it surprisingly happening place. There are people picking up signs and volunteers showing up with their bagged lunch because they are going to be around for the afternoon. Everybody has something that they need to do. Harwinder shows me around the large corner office and it's clear that this campaign is being run on a tight budget. There are apples and juice boxes and no name coffee creamer. Spend wisely. Funny how some would think that's not very NDP-like.


The building's tidy but far from fancy. Eric has done some painting to help spruce it up. As everyone is busy pound harwinder takes a phone interview, I speak with one of her longtime volunteers who is from Salmon Arm like me. She was one of the founders of the Ship of Happiness in Piccadilly Mall that local residents may remember. We talk easily about the beautiful city and she is excited to be a part of the NDP movement. She clearly is someone who has a big heart and is dedicated to helping others. So dedicated, that she shows up at this office every day just to help out. She says the next thing she will do is vacuum and I give a little chuckle as I excused myself to the washroom. When I come back out, I am shocked by a crash and yell. The volunteer has fallen. She is a senior and the entire office jumps to attention. With nearly everyone in the room a healthcare provider, help is swift and comprehensive. The assessment is made quickly and the volunteer is okay. When seniors fall, the tendency to break bones is so high and that was everyone's fear. But this woman is tough! She chuckles to herself, more embarrassed than hurt. Harwinder feels confident volunteer is okay and no further diagnostics are required. While we set to head out for door knocking, other campaign staff will be in the office with her. They all have healthcare backgrounds - she is in good hands, without doubt.

1:48 PM

We venture out door knocking with a couple of volunteers, including Lorne, an NDP supporter since 1979. The carefully selected area is a townhouse development in the heart of Vernon. At the entrance though there is a no solicitation sign. When I question why we would go there, it's explained that during the election you are allowed to door knock. At the first house we encounter the woman is very friendly, but warns that we may not have much positive response. Harwinder thanks the woman for her time and information and the team continues on with the rest of the doors. Hope isn't high, but this is an essential part of campaigning. Once again a midday door-knocking finds many people away from home. But the people who do answer the door engage in thoughtful and animated conversations with Harwinder and her team of volunteers. Two women stopped in the driveway and it turns out both of them were nurses. They happily take information and wish Harwinder well on her journey. Several other doors are the same. Nurses and other healthcare providers live here and overall door-knocking feels successful and rewarding.


3:16 PM

It is now time to pick up their daughter from school. She will be heading back to the office to work on homework and then will be out dropping leaflets the Loren later this afternoon as well. Jasreen is soft-spoken and shy at first, but the conversation picks up quickly. When I ask her what she thinks about her mom running to be our MP, she beams and says that she is so proud of her.

3:21 PM

Back at the office there is work to do and prep to complete. The all candidates forum this evening is an important one and Harwinder wants time to review specific platform pieces that she thinks will be discussed tonight. She apologizes, but there is no need. Her day is not about me – it's about her, and doing what she needs to do. In between her note taking and reading we have time for discussion. The influences we have in our life often lead us down certain paths and for Harwinder the biggest influence in her life was her parents. Growing up as the daughter of farmers, Harwinder knew about hard work. But she also learned from her dad that she could do anything that she put her mind to. The women in Harwinder's life had always been strong. Her is father instilled in her to live her life as thought her life wasn't predetermined by her being a woman. I found it to be surprising and she quickly informed me that family culture can be different than ethnic culture, and she was right.


Harwinder's father was so proud of her hard work and dedication in getting her Nursing degree. How heartbreaking though that he passed away just before she wrote her final exam. She let out a deep sign, but also a warm smile. Her role models have helped to define her and given her the strength and conviction to pursue her career and also serve the public. If he was proud before she got her degree, he would be ecstatic to see her now.

With the The Forum fast approaching, Baljeet does a coffee and snack run for the entire crew. Jasreen and Lorne return, and everyone has a bite before heading out to The People's Place for a very focused forum on accessibility.


5:36 PM

On route we talk about the different boards and organizations she has volunteered her time with. With them all being health-related, she is able to share her expertise to make a difference in people's lives. Her commitment is undeniable.

We arrived at the forum and the volunteers are setting up her table. Harwinder is quick to start introducing herself to those in attendance. As the other candidates arrive, they all greet each other warmly and the respect level seems high. The camaraderie between Harwinder and Marc is always a delight to see. The first time I ever saw them together was at the climate action protest in Salmon Arm in September. Marc was taking a video of Harwinder speaking and they gave each other a high-five when she was done. Such unfiltered respect for other candidates is refreshing to see in this dog-eat-dog election.


As the night progresses and questions are asked, Harwinder shines. This forum is made for her. Her party platform and her personal values very much about helping those who need it allows her to speak passionately throughout the evening. As a formu comes to a close, there's still time to mingle and speak with those in attendance. Harwinder has a very warm approach to people. There appears to be no games here – just genuine concern for the people who need it most.

Jasleen is all smiles as she watches her mother in action, and let me know, again, how proud she is.


8:40pm

We hop into the car and head back to the office to drop off all the supplies. My vehicle has been left at Harwinder's home and they will drive me back. As we unload, I asked which grocery store is open the latest as I still need to grab some bread before heading home. By the time I reach Salmon Arm all the stores will be closed and I know my boys need sandwiches in their lunch the following morning. It just so happens that Harwinder needs to grab some diapers as well and they were planning on hitting up the Superstore. Perfect, I will follow along and grab my vehicle afterwards.


8:58 PM

Like so many other Canadian families, the first thing they do when they walk into the store is go to the coupon wall. Money is respected and saved when it can be. I quickly grabbed my bread and circle around to find the Sandhu family picking the right diapers - I know what it's like to bring home the wrong thing with a three year old! As we head to the customer service counter to do the refund and new purchase, we see a familiar face. There is Marc shopping as well. These candidates are real people with real lives. They are really busy and sometimes the only time you can grocery shop is at 9 o'clock at night. There is joking and laughter as we call out to Marc to get his attention, and he quickly comes over for a picture.

It's been a heartfelt and inspiring day and to have it end in such a positive way is wonderful, maybe even hopeful.


9:32 PM

When we arrive back at home, Avishaan and their oldest daughter are still awake, and at the door welcoming them. Harwinder asks if I need anything before I head home. Maybe a bowl of soup? Her hospitality is so thoughtful but my bed is calling more than my tummy is growling, so I declined her offer and give her a hug. It's been another long day but it has been a great day. Real laughs, and real and real tears were all parts of Harwinder's story and I'm so fortunate that she was willing to share her life and her family with me, and you.


 


906 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page