top of page
Search

Mel Arnold

I grew up in a conservative household, and I would say that the majority of my lifelong friends hold conservative values. I am a hunter, and I have my PAL and own firearms. I enjoy the back country and my husband works in the logging industry. We are hard working, tax paying citizens who want our government to reflect our beliefs. And while some policies of the Conservatives make it a poor fit, many make it a smart vote, for us, at least. So, of the 5 candidates running in this election, I was most excited at the opportunity to know more about Mel.

Unfortunately, that is where the story ends.

My messages to his office about this project were not returned. And when I attempted to introduce myself at the all candidates forum in Blind Bay, I was informed by his campaign that he would not be participating. “Mel is too busy." I understand that it is a busy time, but I was disappointed there were no questions and no willingness to discuss the issue further. With a stop hand directed to me, I accepted the decision, and continued on my mission to document a candidate who was willing to answer questions and let the world know more about her.

For several days this conversation weighed heavy on me. When you tell a person that they are not worth your time, it can have a lasting effect and can make you question your worth. Lucky for me though, I know I have value. I know my voice matters. And despite the rejection, my project is still complete.

Because this story is about access, transparency, and connection.

Sometimes you get it. Sometimes you don't.



Mel Arnold's office declined participation in this project.

 

Mel Arnold is the Conservative candidate and the current sitting MP for the North Okanagan Shuswap riding.

707 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page